Confused About Going Gluten Free?

Food without gluten is the one that excludes the protein gluten. Gluten is found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye and triticale (a combination of wheat and rye). Gluten free food is used in healing celiac disease. Gluten causes inflammation in the small intestine in people with celiac disease. This is why people use gluten-free foods to control their signs and symptoms and prevent complications.

Initially, eating gluten free can be frustrating. But with time, patience and creativity, you will realize that there is food you have eaten earlier that is gluten free; and you’ll find a replacement for the food you like, that has gluten in it.

Details on nutrition

Moving to a gluten-free diet is a big change, and like any other, it takes the time to get used to it. At first, you might feel deprived because of all the restrictions. But, try to stay positive and focus on the food you can eat. Also, you might be surprised how many food products, such as bread, pasta are gluten-free today. If you move to a gluten-free diet, it would be helpful if you consult with nutritionists so he can give you tips and answer any of your questions.

Permitted food

Many healthy and delicious foods are naturally gluten-free:
– Beans, seeds, nuts in unprocessed form
– Fresh eggs
– Fresh meat, fish and poultry (unfried, in dough or marinated)
– Fruits and vegetables
– The majority of dairy products

It is important to be sure that the food is not processed and mixed with food that contains gluten, additives or preservatives. Many grains and starch can be part of the gluten-free diet:
– Amaranth
– Buckwheat
– Corn and corn
– Flour without gluten (rice, soy, corn, potatoes, and beans)
– Cornmeal
– Millet
– Rice
– Sorghum
– Soybeans
– Tapioca

Always avoid foods and drinks that contain:
– Barley
– Rye
– Triticale (triticale)
– Wheat

Avoiding wheat can be challenging since many wheat products come in many different forms and under different names.

The list of wheat products to avoid:
– Semolina
– Grits
– Bulgur
– Khorasan wheat
– Flour, graham flour

Things that should be avoided, unless there is a label that indicates that they are gluten-free:
– Beer
– Bread
– Cakes and pies
– Candies
– Cereals
– Crackers
– French fries
– Imitation of meat and seafood
– Pasta
– Salads
– Sauces, including soy sauce
– Seasonal mix with rice
– Vegetables in sauce

Certain cereals, such as oats, may be contaminated with wheat during development and processing stages in the production. Therefore, doctors and nutritionists usually recommend avoiding oats, unless specified that it is gluten free.

You should also be wary of other products that you eat or you could get in touch with them, and gluten. These include:
– Food additives, such as sladivo, modified food starch
– Medicines and vitamins that use gluten as a binder
– Plasticine to play

Beware of cross-contamination of food

Cross-contamination occurs when food is gluten comes into contact with those that contain gluten. This may occur, for example in food packaging, if it uses the same accessories for both types. Therefore, some foods have labels that “it is possible that contain gluten.” But, be aware that the labeling of food with this label is not mandatory and does not mean that everyone does it, therefore, be careful and read the whole list of ingredients. If you are not sure whether the food contains gluten, do not buy it.

Cross-contamination can occur in the home if more than one type of food prepared in the same area or with the same equipment, inadequately cleaned. For example, use the same toaster for bread and gluten free is a simple example of cross-contamination. Think about the changes that need to be introduced in the home, school, work to prevent contamination.